Music..

With finals approaching, I have most definitely been listening to my fair share of music. Movie scores are my study jam of choice and they seem to legitimately improve my depth of writing. It has intrigued me as to why certain music can really “move” you and others pass by unnoticed. I’ve deduced that it is more than just the lack of lyrics. Instrumental music has a very real power to alter your emotions. The right song can take the most monotonous research paper that you have been working on for ten hours straight and evoke such a conclusion and finale to provoke tears from even the most stoic individual. Without words to distract, the individual is allowed to explore the layers and depths of a composition. The listener, may sometimes have certain connotations with a piece, but that’s not always a bad thing. In leading a consumer to a certain end, you can often play of their preconceptions. For example, in the project concerning war memorials, it would seem beneficial to utilize pieces from moving war tales to build off an element that the viewer is already familiar with. In introducing this familiarity, you gain common ground and thus validate your work.

Leave a comment